Jury Valérie Chevalier

Valérie Chevalier

Directrice Générale, Opéra Orchestre National Montpellier

Valérie Chevalier has received a musical education from the age of nine taking singing, flute and drama lessons. After winning the first prize in singing at the Rouen Conservatory, she became a member of École d’Art Lyrique de l’Opéra de Paris, completing her studies with a diploma.

Following her musical training she was offered numerous roles by the Paris Opera and subsequently started a singing career performing on opera stages in France and abroad. She also participated in various TV and radio programmes.

Having resided in New York for six years, she was awarded a master’s degree in cultural management, Diplôme de IIIème cycle en Gestion et Médiation Culturelles du Groupe EAC-ARTIS de Paris. She then founded the artists’ agency Standing Ovation, an organisation catering for emerging and established singers, conductors and chamber music ensembles. Valérie Chevalier is a regular guest at a number of expert radio programmes and conferences and has become a frequently sought-after jury member at numerous international competitions.

Artistic and administrative director of Opéra National de Lorraine à Nancy for nine years, she has been Directrice Générale of Opéra Orchestre National de Montpellier Occitanie (OONMLR) since 2013.

Additionally, Valérie Chevalier is a member of the board of directors of the Educational Centre for Young Stage Artists CFPL, a member of the board of directors of Opéra Europa and deputy chair of the federation of French Opera Houses ROF.

Jury Valérie Chevalier

Valérie Chevalier

Directrice Générale, Opéra Orchestre National Montpellier

Valérie Chevalier began ihre musikalische Ausbildung bereits im Alter von neun Jahren mit Querflöte, Gesang und Schauspiel. Nach einem ersten Preis für Gesang am Konservatorium von Rouen wurde sie Mitglied der École d’Art Lyrique der Opéra National de Paris, wo sie auch ihr Diplom erwarb.

Nach Abschluss ihrer Ausbildung wurden ihr zahlreiche Rollen an der Pariser Oper angeboten. Sie schlug daraufhin eine Gesangslaufbahn ein und trat in Frankreich sowie auf internationalen Bühnen auf und nahm an mehreren Radio- und Fernsehsendungen teil.

Nach einem sechsjährigen Aufenthalt in New York schloss sie ihre Studien mit einem Master in Kulturmanagement ab, dem Diplôme de IIIème cycle en Gestion et Médiation Culturelles du Groupe EAC-ARTIS de Paris. Sie gründete daraufhin die Künstleragentur Standing Ovation, welche die Karrieren von Sängern, Dirigenten wie auch Kammermusikensembles betreut. Regelmäßig wird sie zu fachspezifischen Radiosendungen sowie Symposien eingeladen und ist auch gefragtes Jurymitglied bei internationalen Wettbewerben.

Nachdem Valérie Chevalier neun Jahre lang künstlerisch-administrative Leiterin der lothringischen Nationaloper und dessen Orchester war, wurde sie 2013 zur Directrice Générale der Opéra Orchestre National de Montpellier Occitanie (OONMLR), bestellt.

Parallel dazu ist sie Aufsichtsratsmitglied des Ausbildungszentrums für junge Bühnenkünstler CFPL, Centre Français de Promotion Lyrique, Mitglied des Aufsichtsrates von Opéra Europa, und Vizepräsidentin der Vereinigung der Französischen Opernhäuser ROF, Réunion des Opéras de France.