Jury Andrea Moses

Andrea Moses

Director, Artistic Director of Opera Deutsches Nationaltheater Weimar

Andrea Moses was born in Dresden. She studied Theatre Directing and Acting at the Ernst Busch Academy of Dramatic Arts in Berlin and at the GITIS in Moscow. The Strauss double bill “Salome” and “Elektra” at the Staatstheater Meiningen marked her successful entry into musical theatre. In 2008, she was nominated for the German theatre prize DER FAUST for her production of Richard Strauss’ “Elektra” and awarded the Meininger Theaterfreunde Fellowship.

From 2009 to 2011, she was Chief Director for Music Theatre and Drama at the Anhaltisches Theater in Dessau and in 2010 was once again nominated for the German Theatre Prize DER FAUST with Richard Wagner’s “Lohengrin”. From 2011 to 2014, Andrea Moses was Chief Director in Jossi Wieler’s team at the Stuttgart Opera and staged works by Gluck, Mozart, Rossini, Berlioz, Verdi, Mussorgsky, Puccini and Berg. She has enjoyed artistic collaborations with conductors such as Antony Hermus, Sylvain Cambreling, René Jacobs, Ingo Metzmacher, Dominik Beykirch and Daniel Barenboim. She opened the 2015 season at the Staatsoper Unter den Linden with Wagner’s “Die Meistersinger von Nürnberg”. In 2018, she presented her first work at the Vienna State Opera with a world premiere of “Die Weiden” by Johannes Maria Staud and Durs Grünbein. She has been teaching since 2004; since 2012 she has held masterclasses at the Hanns Eisler School of Music Berlin and taught as a guest professor at the Ernst Busch Academy of Dramatic Arts Berlin from 2015 to 2020.

In 2021, she took over as Artistic Director of Opera at the Deutsches Nationaltheater Weimar. Here, she staged “Aida” and “Der Silbersee” and continued her collaboration with Johannes Maria Staud with the world premiere of “missing in cantu – eure paläste sind leer” (libretto: Thomas Köck). She founded the festival for contemporary music theatre Passion: SPIEL at the DNT. In 2024, Andrea Moses and her team will be awarded the German Theatre Publishers’ Prize (Preis der Deutschen Theaterverlage) for their programmatic and artistic work and their focus on new music.


Photo (c) Bernd Uhlig