Jury Heribert Germeshausen

Heribert Germeshausen

Intendant, Oper Dortmund

In August 2018, Heribert Germeshausen became artistic director of the Dortmund Opera.

From 2011 to July 2018, he was head of the opera section of Theater Heidelberg. At the same time, he was artistic director of the Baroque Festival WINTER IN SCHWETZINGEN.

From 2009 to 2011 he was head of the opera section of the Anhaltisches Theater Dessau.

Since 2009/10, both of the opera companies managed by him have been nominated for the renowned German theatre prize “DER FAUST”: Dessau in 2010; Heidelberg in 2013, 2016, 2018.  Apart from the nomination for German theatre prize DER FAUST, the opera companies achieved numerous nominations in various categories in the annual surveys of the opera magazines “Opernwelt” and “Die Deutsche Bühne”.

In the 2014/15 season, the opera company of the Heidelberg theatre was awarded the “Preis der deutschen Theater und Medienverlage 2014”. The prize was awarded for the “most exciting and innovative opera programme” of the 14/15 season.

Among the highlights of his tenure in Heidelberg/Schwetzingen counts a cycle of “opera napoletana”, which was conceived as a chronological longitudinal intersection in seven parts through this epoch. Five of the seven operas were first staged for the first time in modern times.

Contemporary music was another pillar of this tenure: The first new productions of Wolfgang Rihm’s “Dionysos” and of Georg Friedrich Hass “Morgen und Abend” after their creations at the Salzburg Festival respectively London Covent Garden, the world creations of Johannes Kalitzke’s “Pym” and of Johannes Harneit’s “Abends am Fluss/Hochwasser”. Special attention has been given to the first staging in Germany of the original version of Mieczysław Weinberg’s “Mazl Tov” in connection with Erich Wolfgang Korngold’s “Der Ring des Polykrates”. The production was accompanied with symposium on M. Weinberg, E.W. Korngold and Isang Yun on the subject “Composing under political repression”.

The programming for Dortmund opera ties up to the concept of repertoire rediscoveries and interweaves it with an emphasis on Richard Wagner and a new production of “Der Ring des Nibelungen” staged by the director Peter Konwitschny.

Heribert Germeshausen is a regular jury member of important singing competitions including the “International Hans Gabor Belverdere Singing Competition” and the International Singing Competition for Baroque Opera «Pietro Antonio Cesti» in Innsbruck.

Jury Heribert Germeshausen

Heribert Germeshausen

Intendant, Oper Dortmund

Heribert Germeshausen ist Intendant der Oper Dortmund seit der Spielzeit 2018/2019.

Zuvor war er von 2011/12 bis 2017/18 Operndirektor des Heidelberger Theaters und Künstlerischer Leiter des Barockfestivals WINTER IN SCHWETZINGEN. Von 2009 bis 2011 war er Operndirektor des Anhaltischen Theaters Dessau.

Während der zurückliegenden neun Spielzeiten seit 2009/2010 erzielten die von ihm geleiteten Opernsparten viermal Nominierungen beim Deutschen Theaterpreis DER FAUST –  Dessau 2010, Heidelberg 2013, 2016, 2018 – und erhielten ferner alljährlich zahlreiche Nennungen in den Jahresumfragen der Fachzeitschriften „Opernwelt“ und „Die Deutsche Bühne“.

2014/15 wurde die Opernsparte des Theaters Heidelberg mit dem „Preis der deutschen Theater- und Medienverlage 2014“ ausgezeichnet. Der Preis wurde für den „spannendsten und innovativsten Spielplan“ der Saison 2014/2015 verliehen.

Zu den Höhepunkten seiner Direktion in Heidelberg/Schwetzingen zählt ein siebenteiliger Zyklus „opera napoletana“, der als chronologischer Längsschnitt durch diese Epoche konzipiert war. Fünf der sieben vorgestellten Werke waren deren erste szenische Realisierung seit Jahrhunderten.

Eine weitere zentrale Säule seiner Operndirektion war zeitgenössische Musik: Die Zweitinszenierungen von Wolfgang Rihms „Dionysos“ und Georg Friedrich Haas „Morgen und Abend“ nach den jeweiligen Uraufführungen bei den Salzburger Festspielen bzw. London Covent Garden, die Uraufführungen von Johannes Kalitzkes „Pym“ und Johannes Harneits „Abends am Fluß/ Hochwasser“. Besondere Aufmerksamkeit fand auch die Deutsche Erstaufführung der Originalfassung von Mieczysław Weinberg’s “Mazl Tov“ in Verbindung mit Erich Wolfgang Korngold’s “Der Ring des Polykrates”, eine Premiere, die mit einem hochkarätigen Symposion über M. Weinberg, E.W. Korngold and Isang Yun zum Thema „Komponieren unter politischer Repression“ verbunden war.

Die Programmplanung der Oper Dortmund knüpft an diesem Konzept an und verwebt es mit einem Richard-Wagner-Schwerpunkt, der um eine Neuinszenierung des „Ring des Nibelungen“ durch Peter Konwitschny zentriert ist.

Heribert Germeshausen ist regelmäßig Jurymitglied bei internationalen Gesangswettbewerben wie dem „Hans-Gabor-Belverdere-Gesangswettbewerb“ und dem internationalen Gesangswettbewerb für Barockoper «Pietro Antonio Cesti» in Innsbruck.