FAQ

Can a team consist of more than two persons?

In principle, participants are required to form teams consisting of one director and one designer. Yet it is acceptable that the team consists of more participants, e. g., a costume designer. On our website, at “Online Registration”, fields for more participants can be added. Below the input mask for registering “team member 2” you can find the option “add new team member”. When clicking the grey lettering further masks for registering additional team members appear.

 

Is it also possible for a single person (responsible for both stage direction and design) to participate in the competition?

Yes, single submissions are acceptable.

 

I will already be 36 years old in 2016: which date of birth will qualify me to participate in the competition? Can one team member have already passed the age limit if the other person is under 36?

Persons born on 8 August 1980 or later qualify to participate in the RING AWARD. This applies to all team members.

 

Which data need to be submitted at online registration?

  • personal data (name, address, nationality, date of birth, contact data)
  • scans of passport and of receipt certifying payment of registration fee
  • brief curriculum vitae (course of studies taken, previous artistic activities)
  • short versions of the director’s and designer’s conceptions for the whole opera “Don Pasquale”
  • a storyboard of the conceptions

 

Which form is the storyboard expected to take?

A storyboard is expected to explain on the basis of the complete score of the competition opera “Don Pasquale” the concrete activities on the stage (directions and design) step by step in the sequence of scenes. It is also essential to consider the musical text. The individual formation of the storyboard is left to the participants’ own decision. It may consist of model photos describing the scenes, or of drawn images with stage directions.

 

Which file formats can be used for online registration, and what is the maximum size of the files?

For file uploads you may use the formats .pdf, .jpg, .png and .gif (other formats are not supported by the system and lead to a complete cancellation of the registration). No file must be larger than 3 MB. In case of incorrect inputs the files need to be re-uploaded.

 

Which items should the portfolios sent by post contain?

  • description/presentation of the director‘s and designer‘s conceptions of the complete opera “Don Pasquale”
    As, in contrast to the online registration, submissions by post have no data limits, the portfolio should be more elaborate. Yet the material (folders, etc.) must not exceed the measure of DIN A3. (The online registration should contain a concise version of the portfolio.) The proposed concept (technical drawings, set layouts, etc.) must conform to the stage of Schauspielhaus Graz and bear in mind the technical conditions of the venue. The drawings can be downloaded here.
  • a film file of five minutes‘ length at most (CD-ROM, DVD) of an already realised project (if available)

 

What needs to be carefully observed when submitting the portfolio in order to guarantee anonymity?

It has to be strictly observed that the names of the participants as well as any other information which would enable their identification (institutions, etc.) do not appear on the cover of the portfolio or anywhere else on the texts or pictures, etc. Anyone not complying with this regulation will be excluded from the competition.

 

At which stage of the competition is the maximum limit of the budget (stage design: € 17.500, costumes: € 6.500, makeup: €1.000) of relevance?

The budget applies to the stage realization of the first act of “Don Pasquale” at the finals. Nonetheless the budget should already be kept in mind when submitting the designs as their feasibility within the given budget is an essential assessment criterion of the competition. Any cost overruns at the stage of preparation for the finals give reason for an exclusion from the competition and offer other contestants an opportunity of moving up.

 

What is the deadline for registration and submission?

For both the online registration and the submission by post (date of postmark) the deadline is 8 August 2016.

FAQ

Kann man am RING AWARD teilnehmen, wenn das Team aus mehr als zwei Personen besteht?

Zur Teilnahme haben sich grundsätzlich ein/e RegisseurIn und ein/e BühnengestalterIn zu einem Team zusammenzuschließen. Es ist jedoch möglich, mit weiteren Teilnehmenden, z. B. einer Kostümbildnerin anzutreten. Auf unserer Website können unter dem Menüpunkt „Online-Anmeldung“  Anmeldungsfelder für weitere Teammitglieder hinzugefügt werden. Unterhalb der Eingabemaske für das „Teammitglied 2“ finden Sie die Option „Weiteres Teammitglied hinzufügen“. Nach Anklicken des hellgrauen Schriftzugs erscheinen weitere Eingabemasken für zusätzliche Teammitglieder.

 

Ist es auch möglich, als Einzelperson (Regie und Bühnengestaltung stammen von einer Person) am Wettbewerb teilzunehmen?

Ja, die Einreichung kann auch nur von einer Person stammen.

 

Ich werde 2016 bereits 36 Jahre alt: Wann muss ich geboren sein, um noch am Wettbewerb teilnehmen zu können? Kann eines der Teammitglieder die Altersgrenze bereits überschritten haben, wenn die andere Person unter 36 Jahre ist?

Personen, die am 8. August 1980 oder später geboren sind, sind zur Teilnahme am RING AWARD berechtigt. Dies gilt für alle Teammitglieder.

 

Welche Unterlagen sind bei der Online-Anmeldung einzureichen?

  • Personalien (Name, Adresse, Nationalität, Geburtsdatum, Kontaktdaten)
  • Scans des Reisepasses und der Zahlungsbestätigung für die Teilnahmegebühr
  • kurzgefasster Lebenslauf (Studiengang, bisher durchgeführte künstlerische Aufgaben)
  • eine Kurzfassung des Regiekonzeptes für die Wettbewerbsoper „Don Pasquale“
  • ein Storyboard des Konzeptes

 

Wie soll das Storyboard gestaltet sein?

Das Storyboard soll auf Basis der gesamten Partitur der Wettbewerbsoper „Don Pasquale“, das konkrete Geschehen auf der Bühne (Regieanweisungen und Bühnengestaltung) deutlich machen und die Abfolge der Szenen beschreiben. Dabei ist es erforderlich, dass auch auf den musikalischen Text eingegangen wird. Die Gestaltung des Storyboards obliegt den Teilnehmenden. Es können sowohl szenenbeschreibende Modellfotos verwendet werden, als auch gezeichnete Bilder mit Regieanweisungen.

 

Welche Dateiformate können bei der Online-Anmeldung verwendet werden und wie groß dürfen die Dateien sein?

Für Dateiuploads können Sie die Dateiformate .pdf, .jpg, .png und .gif verwenden (andere Dateiformate werden vom System nicht unterstützt und führen zu einem Abbruch einer erfolgreichen Anmeldung). Keine der Dateien darf größer als 3 MB sein. Bei fehlerhafter Eingabe müssen die Dateien erneut hochgeladen werden.

 

Welche Unterlagen sollen bei der postalischen Einreichung des Portfolios enthalten sein?

  • Die Darstellung des Regie- und Bühnengestaltungskonzeptes für die gesamte Wettbewerbsoper
    Da es bei der postalischen Einreichung keine Datenbegrenzung wie bei der Online-Anmeldung gibt, sollte das Portfolio ausführlicher sein. Die Unterlagen (Mappen etc.) dürfen jedoch das Format von DIN A3 nicht überschreiten. (Die Online-Anmeldung sollte eine Kurzfassung des Portfolios enthalten.)
    Das vorgelegte Konzept (u. a. technische Zeichnungen, Grundrisse des Bühnenbilds etc.) muss für die Bühne des Schauspielhauses Graz unter Berücksichtigung der technischen Möglichkeiten des Veranstaltungsortes passen. Die Pläne zum Herunterladen finden Sie hier.
  • Eine maximal 5-minütige Filmdatei (CD-ROM, DVD) über ein bereits erarbeitetes Projekt (falls vorhanden).

 

Was ist bei der Einreichung des Portfolios besonders zu beachten, um die Anonymität zu garantieren?

Es ist zu beachten, dass die Namen der Bewerber sowie alle sonstigen Hinweise, die zu ihrer Identifizierung dienen können (Institutionen etc.), weder auf der Außenseite des Portfolios, noch im Text oder auf den Bildern etc. aufscheinen. Nichtbeachtung führt zum Ausschluss von der Bewerbung.

 

Wann ist das in der Ausschreibung genannte maximal verfügbare Budget (maximaler Kostenrahmen: Bühne: € 17.500, Kostüme: € 6.500 und Maske: € 1.000) relevant?

Das Budget gilt für die Umsetzung des ersten Aktes von „Don Pasquale“ im Finale. Gleichwohl muss bereits bei dem eingereichten Konzept dieser Budgetrahmen im Auge gehalten werden, da die Machbarkeit im Rahmen des vorgegebenen Budgets ein wesentliches Beurteilungskriterium des Wettbewerbes ist. Budgetüberschreitungen bei der Vorbereitung des Finales sind ein Ausschließungsgrund und führen zur Berücksichtigung nachgereihter Kandidaten. 

 

Wann endet die Frist für die Einreichung?

Einsendeschluss für die postalische Einreichung (Datum des Poststempels) sowie der Online-Anmeldung ist der 8. August 2016.